Fair warning, I’m not feeling overly charitable tonight. It’s one of those days, when you wonder if the world is off it’s meds. At one time I was considering a vocation with the Trappists, and today is one of those days, when I start wondering if I made the wrong choice to pursue a more apostolic vocation. (Although truth be told, people are people, and annoyances are found everywhere, cloister or no.)

So today in a seminar, I was treated to a presentation by a student. The readings she gave were from the Satanic bible. Now, it could’ve been handled in a more interesting manner. But clearly from the get-go her intent was to shock. Needless to say, after reading the description of the black Mass, I was mightily pissed off. (Still am, to some extent.) I’m even more pissed off because I had to sit through two hours of vapidity. Granted, she’s still learning, and I could’ve been a bit more charitable; but when that which you hold most sacred in your denomination is trashed for no real reason at all (She could’ve cut the readings out of her presentation, and it wouldn’t have mattered), it tends to get a bit personal.

I’m still too angry to sleep; the rosary (which normally helps insomnia) only served to reinforce my pissed-offed-ness; so I wander over to the veritable Chronicle of Higher Ed, only to read two columns about the seven deadly sins for students and professors. Including one nice little tidbit, also insulting the crap out of one of my research interests:

The students, mostly, have learned not to take responsibility for their actions. If they fail to do assignments and miss a substantial number of classes, it’s because they are so busy, even though said busyness– if the truth be told–consists mostly of playing video games, watching television, attending sporting events, and going to drunken parties.

Yup, you guessed it. Students are lazy because they drink too much and play video games. I wonder what Prof. Benton would think about doctoral students who play video games, write papers on them and hardly drink. Oh, and further on in his column, we all dress like hussies (so much for my geek wear of jeans and a T-shirt or long-sleeved T-shirt). I’d like to see him chase cat-5 cable under someone’s desk in a skirt and heels. Or gut a computer wearing chiffon. And I’ve got two words to say to pantyhose: yeast infection.

So since I’m in the mood to be contrary, I’ll be starting on my seven cardinal virtues for academics. Now I think it’s finally time for sleep.

~ by Jen on May 9, 2006.

 
