Swanie’s Bread

Putting this here, because I lost the recipe, then found it again. It’s printed out on an email from a close friend of mine, who died last year. Swanie was the chaplain of the school where I did my undergrad, and if anyone’s a saint, I’m convinced he is. You just knew there was something special about him. Seems like his recipe popped back into view just when I needed it–not the recipe itself, but a reminder of that friendship. This is the bread Swanie always used during Communion. It’s not kosher for Catholic use–sadly–but it’s really good.


“I am currently doing half-batches, so here’s the recipe in half-quantities.”

“Combine

  • 1.5 C white flour
  • 1.5 C whole wheat flour
  • .5 C old-fashioned raw oatmeal [not the quick kind]
  • .5 C cornmeal
  • .33333 C sugar
  • .5 t salt
  • .5 t baking soda
  • .5 t baking powder

“Mix well
“Add

  • 1.5 C buttermilk
  • .666666 C oil +/- (now using peanut oil)

“Mix well
Chill overnight
Flour a board
Divide dough into balls larger than a golfball
Flatten with fingers or roll with a pin to form disk
Bake on ungreased sheets about 12″ at 350 d
Consecrate
Eat”

~ by Jen on August 7, 2006.

2 Responses to “Swanie’s Bread”

  1. I love real bread in the Eucharist – but would avoid dairy because many here are lactose intolerant. I’ll try this.

  2. I’ve made it with skim milk before, so you could probably use either almond or soy milk.

Comments are closed.

 
