Scattered before-bed thoughts

So a few years ago, I messed up my back lifting a printer. Every once and awhile (fortunately less and less often) it tweaks out on me. The other night it was being a nuisance, so I took my muscle relaxant and settled down to my evening blog surf. In what seemed like a good idea at the time, I signed up for NaNoWriMo. Now, I know I’m under no obligation to actually do it, and with a dissertation (albeit musical), I probably shouldn’t, unless I can make the two relate. But…

…I could do crossover Doctor Who/Battlestar Galactica fanfic. (OK, no I couldn’t…think of the children…to illustrate how those muscle relaxants interact with me, I did seriously entertain this idea when I signed up.)

…Or it might be a good way to get my book on video game soundtracks done. One of my goals is to write a book on the aesthetics of music in video games. It’s a side research interest–video games fascinate me, especially the way all levels work together–but I’ve no interest in ever composing music for games. I don’t play nicely with others. Corporate culture makes me homicidal. But I’ve been doing research for the stupid thing over the past so many years. I may as well write it up finally.

…Or I could do something creative. Blogging aside, I so rarely have time to write for the sake of writing anymore. Everything I write is to be evaluated in some form, and it might be kind of fun to write something I intend for nobody to read. (Some thoughts involve a commentary on my dissertation–which would take longer than a month to do–or something involving the liturgy of the hours.)

So I don’t know what I’m going to do, if I do anything at all. Suggestions are welcome, and I’ve got 5 days to figure it out.

~ by Jen on October 27, 2006.

2 Responses to “Scattered before-bed thoughts”

  1. I am a fifth-year NaNo participant, and therefore I subscribe fully to the “Plot is for the Weak” school of thought.

  2. Hey that’s an idea…don’t think I’m going with the BSG/Dr. Who fic, though.

Comments are closed.

 
