Rite of passage

Last weekend I got a squash that needed to be cooked, so I made this. I have to admit it came out well and makes enough to feed a small army. Now I don’t drink often. I’m not against it, but when you have parents who’re alcoholics, the fun is kind of out of it. That having been said in a sauce like the pasta recipe above, there’s no way around it, since a lot of the flavor is coming from it.

Buying alcohol is generally a risky procedure for me. At best, I have to deal with the embarrassment of my legal ID being questioned as a fake (I don’t look my 31 years.) At worst, my ID is questioned, and I’m thrown out. (Never try to buy beer for chili with a passport.) Rarely am I buying alcohol for drinking–it’s generally going into something, but one shouldn’t cook with that which one isn’t willing to drink.

So I approached the counter at Trader Joe’s with my $3 Chardonnay, a bag of tortellini, and the penne for tonight. The clerk rang me up, handed me the receipt, and I stood there. He asked me if there were something else I needed. I came out of my trance, thanked him, and went home. This would seem unremarkable, except for the fact that it’s the first time I haven’t been “carded” for alcohol in the ten years since I’ve been able to purchase it legally.

The first few times I got carded, it was cool–I was suddenly old enough to buy my own alcohol, and I got the shiny blue ID to prove it. (Under 21 ID’s/licenses in my former home state are red.) Then once I got older–around 25–it got to be annoying. I’d be out with friends, their ID would never be checked, and the waitperson would come over and ask in hushed tones if he/she could see my ID. The conversation would awkwardly stop as I’d pull the card out.

While I don’t miss the hassle, it’s oddly wistful to not be carded. Although who knows what will happen the next time a recipe calls for wine.

~ by Jen on November 19, 2006.

4 Responses to “Rite of passage”

  1. My last weekend in Seattle I went to Ivars with the nuns. The restaurant was full so we ate in the bar … and I got carded. I’m 34, my dinner companions were in their 70’s. They thought it was a riot (and one of them handed the waitress her senior citizens discount card asking if she wanted to see here id).

  2. Heh. I bet they were a riot!

  3. You know, I have had similar situations in restaurants (though I’ve never been thrown out of a place because they didn’t believe my ID was authentic…) However, lately, they have been checking my ID less and less. I guess now that I am approaching 30 that I am actually starting to look older than 21. Though I’ve had parishioners tell me I look anywhere from 15-22. So people’s perceptions are vastly different.Anyway, I am guessing, and hopeful, that I will have a long time to look older than 21. So part of me thinks I should enjoy looking youthful while it lasts. I’m wondering if I’ll miss being carded when I’m 40…

  4. Hi Mark! A friend of mine says that I should say “thank you” when they ask to see my ID after 30. (She just turned 50.) The first couple times it happened after I turned 30, I thought it was flattering. Now…I just want my 20’s behind me. ;)Once a couple years ago when I was flying from LA to Chicago, I got a coveted exit seat. The flight attendant made a point of asking to see some ID, to make sure I was legally allowed to sit there! (Didn’t think I looked 15…)

Comments are closed.

 
