Random things and updates

1.) an update of the dissertation meter:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
315 / 4,500
(7.0%)

Fifteen seconds may not be much, but in between updates I switched from Common Lisp Music to csound and some lisp software to generate csound code that my chair wrote. Muuuuuch easier. I will say one thing about his software: if you screw up, it’s obvious. So instead of ugly csound code, I’m writing standard LISP. Much easier.

2.) Nothing much to write about lately. I really don’t like Christmas, with all its social obligations (Christmas card lists, presents for people, etc), and Mass on Christmas is almost pure torture (filled with people who never go and whose kids don’t know how to behave in a Church–not faulting the kids, but I sure am the parents; filled with references to family and how wonderful it is; and the closest Church out here has to advertise that they don’t compromise on what they call “authentic” Church teaching. That raises my defenses right there–I drag the Frood with me on Christmas and Easter, and I don’t want some self-styled defender of orthodoxy “saving” the Church from the likes of us non-Catholic-dating, chapel veil hating folks.) Meh. Sorry to be cranky. One of the most joyous holidays really isn’t for a lot of people.

~ by Jen on December 23, 2006.

3 Responses to “Random things and updates”

  1. ((hug))Quick grits are fine. Just don’t have quite the “nutty-corn” flavor of real grits.Send me your addy and I’ll sent you some grits.=o)(OK, Rev Mommy here. Stupid Blogger.)

  2. BTW, It hasn’t allowed me to comment on some blogs in DAYS and DAYS. Grrr.Still Me, Rev Mommy.

  3. Huh. I think I’ve got it set so everyone can comment. Because I switched to the new version?Grits: Okie. I’m sure I can find the original kind at Whole Paycheck in the bulk aisle…of course they’ll probably be cruelty-free and organic.

Comments are closed.

 
