Christmas and birthday was drama-free. The Hoopy Frood (whose birthday is the same day as mine) and I went for sushi, then I came down with the flu his dad had. But that seems to be abating. For Christmas we went to his mom’s for a bit, then came home and made Rev. Mommy’s heart-attack-in-a-bowl, a.k.a. shrimp and grits. Absolutely delicious stuff, but I don’t think we’ll be making it every day…not unless one can substitute fat-free half and half for the heavy cream.–nevermind all the cheese in the grits–but for Christmas, you have to splurge.

I was totally gobsmacked that I got enough to upgrade my computer. I’m using the same athlon thunderbird I built 5+ years ago when I first moved to Seattle, and it’s getting a bit slow. OK, slow is an understatement–try weird, as all old computer equipment gets, the motherboard is kind of flaky (as it’s survived two failing power supplies and a lightning strike), and it takes me an hour to compile a 5 minute (stereo) piece. I’m digging around whitepages and the like to see if dual core is really the best bang for the buck on floats over AMD. I like AMD, but it looks like intel’s faster and cheaper for what I do. (I build all my computers.)

So happy holidays to all who lurk here!

~ by Jen on December 26, 2006.

 
