So my non-meat options are slim to none on campus here. As an aside, the best school I’ve been at with respect to religious obligations being accommodated and cafeterias honoring religious dietary restrictions was CalArts. So if I want to eat on campus, my options are salad bar, overpriced, soggy wrap things, or crappy tofu. Given the penitential nature of Lent, perhaps soggy wraps would be more fitting.

So I experimented with onigiri. (Overpriced, gooey versions can also be found at the same place that sells soggy wraps.) You can find a good way to make them here. Today’s lunch is: bonito with soy, wasabi furikake, and pickled plums. A friend said “3 cups of rice,” but didn’t specify cooked or uncooked. I made 3 cups of uncooked rice, which made about 14. (I’ll be eating them the past couple of days.)

3/3 edit: Sorry about that. I forgot the link to the onigiri recipe. My bad! They worked really well in my lunch, but dried out a bit.

~ by Jen on March 2, 2007.

2 Responses to “”

  1. If you don’t like them dry, wrap in a damp paper towel and nuke ’em for .5-1 minutes.You’ve inspired me, I think I’ll do some Japanese food for my Wednesday recipe.

  2. Oooh, hey that’s a good idea. I made some last night, so we’ll see how they did with 12 hours between fabrication and lunch…

Comments are closed.

 
