1.) Knowledge base: has anyone ever had it happen that they get their tax refund, and there’s a notice in it, saying that the amount is different than what you had on your forms, and that you’ll be notified by the IRS in a few days with more information? Got my tax refund Monday, and it’s identical to the amount it should’ve been. I’m waiting for said more information with contact information. Frustrating, because I could really use the money. Googling “notice 54 IRS tax refund” doesn’t bring up anything bad. But…argh. No fun over spring break for me. Oh well. Conference paper to write, then I can have some fun.

2.) I have a venue for my recital. I was informed by the liturgy guy at my parish that it will be held at my church. I’m happy about it–it’s a gorgeous space, prettier than the music department’s recital hall. I’m not sure what there is for sound playback (my God quad or octatonic playback would be wonderful in there), but we’ve got a year to work it out. I also have to find out if it’s OK to do a degree recital in a space like that. There could be some whack WA state statue against it. I know organists often give their recitals in churches, but that could also have to do with the availability of instruments.

3.) Ennui lately. Probably just need a break. Would also like it if the music-theory-as-model-of-musical-experience crowd blogged more, but you can’t win ’em all. I should do a set of posts about that branch of music theory, since I think it’s the best thing since sliced bread. Conference paper first.

~ by Jen on March 21, 2007.

 
