And one last little bit of Catholic kitsch (every denomination, every religion has their kitsch. It’s just a matter of how much and what kind): The Day-glo St. Cecilila Statue. For some reason I got on a mailing list of every pseudo-schismatic and “traditional” Catholic group out there. (I suspect in my rosary part procurement, some company sold my mailing address.) So I get every catalog of tchotchkes in existence.

It’s bad enough that St. Cecilia got stuck with musicians because of a mistranslation, but to be stuck with neon green and hot pink? I think she suffered enough.

~ by Jen on March 28, 2007.

2 Responses to “”

  1. That statue is AWESOME!I’m not sure I would like it for my own decoration/devotional purposes, though.

  2. Catholic kitsch is it’s own brand of specialness…don’t think I’d want one, either, but oddly enough I’ve never been attracted to St. Cecilia.

Comments are closed.

 
