1.) Sorry I’ve been so quiet on this front. I’m still waiting to hear about next year’s financial aid. If you’ve been following along, they’ve been insisting that I don’t have a Master’s and canceling all aid. They’ve done this four times, and counting. Supposedly my aid for next year is being “worked on” and they require more information from me. I called to see what this might be, and was brushed off, saying I need to wait for the award letter. I asked to speak with someone higher up, and was hung up on. This is the kind of crap I’ve been dealing with since last April. (Yes, I was polite.)

My department can’t really do anything–they’re beholden to financial aid. If financial aid says I qualify, they pay up. The graduate school said they’d take care of it the last time I had issues with them, and it was fixed that day. (Due to financial aid not believing I had a Master’s, even documented with an official transcript (signed, sealed) from my alma mater, which I was told by the financial aid counselor was “not acceptable.”)

You know, I could understand if I were forced out of my program due to academics. But this? Pure incompetence. Especially the fact that there’s a problem, but they won’t tell me what it is. Nor can I find out if I’m able to finish out my degree–since I’ve only got a year to go. (And I don’t have $9K + fees lying around for tuition. If I did, I probably wouldn’t bother with financial aid in the first place.)

This whole situation isn’t the greatest for productivity on one’s dissertation, either, where one’s dissertation is a set of fifteen pieces. It’s hard to be creative and productive, when you don’t know if you’ll be able to attend the next quarter.

2.) I come home today, and a neighbor is going through other people’s mail. Got a complaint in to the landlord, since messing with other people’s mail is a federal offense.

3.) I go to do laundry. Laundry room is filled with wet, stinky piles of laundry. All machines are filled with equally stinky laundry. Mold allergies going crazy. So I’ll probably have to head to the laundromat. Luckily, it has free wifi.

I’ll be OK. Just a bunch of annoyances making a nice little annoyance logjam. That and the summer is looming. I’ve never had a good summer, either.

~ by Jen on May 22, 2007.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Little annoyances are huge when you’re working on a dissertation. Good luck with the whole thing.

  2. It’s times like this, when I wish I were writing a research-based dissertation. You don’t have to be in the mood to write good prose. Writing good music takes a bit more. Ah well…getting program notes written for it.

Comments are closed.

 
