Props to Crystal, who got me looking into the Enchiridion of Indulgences. There’s some really cool prayers in there, too. Such as:

Hidden God, devoutly I adore you,
Truly present underneath these veils:
All my heart subdues itself before you,
Since it all before you faints and fails.

Not to sight, or taste, or touch be credit,
Hearing only do we trust secure;
I believe, for God the Son has said it —
Word of Truth that ever shall endure.

On the cross was veiled your Godhead’s splendor,
Here your manhood lies hidden too;
Unto both alike my faith I render,
And, as sued the contrite thief, I sue.

Though I look not on your wounds with Thomas,
You, my Lord, and you, my God, I call:
Make me more and more believe your promise,
Hope in you, and love you over all.

O memorial of my Savior dying,
Living Bread, that gives life to man;
Make my soul, its life from you supplying,
Taste your sweetness, as on earth it can.

Deign, O Jesus, Pelican of heaven,
Me, a sinner, in your Blood to lave,
To a single drop of which is given
All the world from all its sin to save.

Contemplating, Lord, your hidden presence,
Grant me what I thirst for and implore,
In the revelation of your essence
To behold your glory evermore.

Partial indulgence for that one’s devout recitation. So’s this one:

Angel of God, my guardian dear, to whom his love commits me here, enlighten and guard, rule and guide me. Amen.

You know Stephen Colbert’s “De-Deification” skit? Yup. Partial indulgence for the recitation of the Nicene Creed. (or did he rattle off the Apostle’s Creed?)

Do you teach or learn Christian doctrine? Partial indulgence for you, so long as it’s done with faith and Christian charity.

Here’s another neat one you don’t hear too often:

Hear us, Lord, holy Father, almighty and eternal God; and graciously send your holy angel from heaven to watch over, to cherish, to protect, to abide with, and to defend all who dwell in this house. Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

This one’s a favorite of mine:

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to your protection, implored your help or sought your intercession, was left unaided. Inspired with this confidence, I fly to you, O Virgin of virgins, my Mother; to you do I come, before you I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in your mercy hear and answer me. Amen.

Maybe I should remember to do the Divine Office (or the version of it that I do–the old Benedictine Office), since there’s an indulgence on Psalm 50/51.

Hey Rev. Mommy. Make sure your congregation sings this one on Pentecost. (Isn’t this one also a hymn used in Protestant churches?) They’d have a chance for a plenary indulgence:

Come, Holy Spirit, Creator blest,
And in our souls take up your rest;
Come with your grace and heavenly aid
To fill the hearts which you have made.
O Comforter, to you we cry,
O heavenly gift of God Most High,
O fount of life and fire of love,
And sweet anointing from above.
You in your sevenfold gifts are known;
You, finger of God’s hand we own;
You, promise of the Father, you
Who do the tongue with power imbue.
Kindle our senses from above,
And make our hearts o’erflow with love;
With patience firm and virtue high
The weakness of our flesh supply.
Far from us drive the foe we dread,
And grant us your peace instead;
So shall we not, with you for guide,
Turn from the path of life aside.
Oh, may your grace on us bestow
The Father and the Son to know;
And you, through endless times confessed,
Of both the eternal Spirit blest.
Now to the Father and the Son,
Who rose from death, be glory given,
With you, O holy Comforter,
Henceforth by all in earth and heaven. Amen.

This one’s a good one to end on, since it’s the final collect before the Marian antiphon in the old Benedictine version of Compline:

Visit, we beg you, O Lord, this dwelling, and drive from it all snares of the enemy: let your holy Angels dwell herein, to keep us in peace; and let your blessing be always upon us. Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

~ by Jen on August 6, 2007.

2 Responses to “”

  1. cool hymn. Found it hereI may not mention the plenary indulgences, though.=o)

  2. Yeah plenary indulgences are kind of like the McDonalds Monopoly game of Catholicism. Try as you might, you never collect that third piece…

Comments are closed.

 
