Hello, wayward blog readers. I’m still here.

  1. Been busy. Like Liam, I’m stuck in work hell.
  2. Haven’t had much interesting to write about lately.
  3. If you haven’t seen season 3/29 of Doctor Who, you’ll note that the spoiler tags went away. I figured since it had aired both in the UK and in the US that they were no longer necessary. If you’re going back through my archives, don’t complain to me if I spoil the ending of “Last of the Time Lords.”
  4. There have been a few issues lately that have made blogging decidedly unfun. To some extent, we all create a persona when we’re online. But the internet is also a harbor for mentally fragile people, who find support for their own distorted view. I’ve been online since 1993, when I started college, back in the days of DOC and Citadel BBSes. I assume people are putting forth that which they want me to see when they post here (everyone engages in some form of subterfuge online), but when I’m confronted with it (namely in the form of sockpuppets), that’s clearly a cry for help. While I have sympathy for such people, I don’t want to engage them here. I am not a therapist, and I can’t provide the help they need.

~ by Jen on October 23, 2007.

8 Responses to “”

  1. Not sure I ever knew what a sockpuppet was, but you have my sympathy. You’ve been around a long time! I started out in ’96 (OMG, over 10 years!!!) at a chatroom called Mr.Showbiz. 🙂

  2. I was more a BBS person, with the occasional foray into ytalk or talk. 😉 Command line all the way.You know, there are so many things I’d like to talk about (like the Dark Materials trilogy), but I know if I do, some rad-trad is going to come out of the woodwork.

  3. Ban ’em.It’s your blog, do what you like. *semi-evil grin*Did you like the Pullman series? I was hugely disappointed.

  4. It’s interesting so far…although I was a bit put off by the comment about women not being able to be Scholars. (However that’s a viewpoint of a character, and not the book as a whole, as I’ve been told.) The first part of the first book isn’t bad. I wish they had children’s lit like this when I was a child.

  5. I read the first book of the Pullman series but not the others. Thought it was pretty good.I’ve only been online since 99 I think. I joined a writers BBS.What is a sockpupput? I asked, hoping I’m not a sockpuppet 🙂

  6. Sockpuppet: someone who creates more than one account and pretends to be a different person. Tactic didn’t work back in ’93. Doesn’t now. I’m hoping i can finish off the first book before the movie comes out…considering how much time I don’t have to read, it may be tight.

  7. Ah, you haven’t finished it! Yeah, I loved it right up until the last book. That’s when it really pissed me off (mostly because I was passing each book to my daughter as I finished reading it, and the 3rd book was full of issues I didn’t really want to deal with at her age).I’ll be very interested to hear what you think of the complete series.

  8. I didn’t know what a sockpuppet was either. Thanks for the edification. :-)What puppet has been pulling your strings? I’ve been over at getreligion.org the last day or two, trying to talk sense into some trads. It’s darned near impossible. Only been blogging since 2006, but started on forums around 2003 or so. I learned long before there was an internet (available to the general public) that getting to know people by writing back and forth with them wasn’t always reliable. Very true what you say about personas that we create.

Comments are closed.

 
