Things I’ve learned from NaNoWriMo



So I’m actually trying to do NaNoWriMo this year. I’m about 33,941 words into it, but am 2733 words short for where I should be today. About 1600 words a day really isn’t difficult. 1600 words a day that’s actually good is difficult.

Fiction is different from academic writing in that you have to lie to tell a good story. Nobody wants to hear every little detail about a given event, although in academic writing, every little detail does matter. In fiction, leaving out details can make it more appealing.

Getting an idea for a plot is easy. Keeping it going past 20,000 words isn’t. I’m doing the Tolstoy thing, and my “novel” is actually in 3 (possibly 4) parts.

I think just spewing words and not (initially) caring about quality is helping the dissertation. I was starting to get hypercritical of what I’m doing, which was slowing me up. Keeping at least 1660 words a day flowing has helped the writing that matters.

Who knows if I’ll actually finish. This won’t ever see light of day, but it’s been an interesting exercise.

~ by Jen on November 23, 2007.

 
