Pardon me a moment while I channel my inner Tyler Durden…

“You’re not your parish. You’re not how much money you put in the collection basket. You’re not the language you pray in. You’re not the contents of your rosary pouch. You’re not your frigging mantilla. You’re the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world.”

OK. I feel better. You know I have to wonder if some of the scandal and shock some have towards the world isn’t more about them than the world, itself. Case in point: how some like to go on and on about how horrible the world is and how death is behind every stone, namely those who like to go on about the “culture of death.”

I think they’re being disingenuous. For one, if God created the world, it’s good. They hedge towards Jansenism and Albigensianism more than I’m comfortable. For them, it’s almost as if nobody is worthy of grace or redemption. And, most importantly, when they hear of some horrible thing, they shy away from it, as if their knowing about it will corrupt them. Frankly, it makes me wonder where they are, as thinking and praying Catholics and Christians, if they don’t know about how horrible some things can be in the real world.

With them, I’m reminded of the quote from Tony Campolo: “I have three things I’d like to say today. First, while you were sleeping last night, 30,000 kids died of starvation or diseases related to malnutrition. Second, most of you don’t give a shit. What’s worse is that you’re more upset with the fact that I said shit than the fact that 30,000 kids died last night.”

I think that we’re losing our Catholic identity not because of “On Eagle’s Wings” or what language we use but because people simply don’t care. On the one hand, I understand their fatigue. I certainly experience it every time I walk down the Ave and get asked for spare change every half-block or so. But on the other hand, if life is sacred, then all life is sacred, not just the life that’s non-threatening, cute, or doesn’t force you into some uncomfortable consideration of your own life. Nothing disgusts me more than hearing so-called “pro-life” people twist reasoning into approving of torture, the death penalty, or unjust wars.

OK. I feel better now.

~ by Jen on February 18, 2008.

 
