Where I stand

Hi. Sorry, I’ve been absent, but the Hoopy Frood and I have been playing World of Warcraft lately. The family that slays together…(level 61 gnome warlock, Misha, if you’re interested.)

So I’ve been hearing people say how lonely they feel on the blogosphere, and how their opinions may not be shared. This is probably the only time I’m going to mention some of the topics, here, and I do so out of solidarity for those who’re feeling kind of lonely right now. (As we approach election season in the US and those who think you can’t be a good Catholic and vote a certain way start shrieking louder. As an aside, I heard a good term for those: they’re the Catholic “barfosphere.”)

1.) I’ve yet to hear a compelling reason why people of the same sex shouldn’t marry. I’ve tried understanding the arguments, but at the end of the day, the fact that two men or two women love each other and want to make the same commitment the Frood and I do to each other doesn’t impact us in any way, shape or form. If anything, I’d think other couples in a sacramental kind of love would strengthen us.

And while we’re at it, I really hate the “sacramental” or “non-sacramental” designation of marriages. Unless the Frood gets baptized, ours won’t ever be a sacramental marriage. You know what? After he flew out to help me with Phase 1 of the bedbug invasion, I’m convinced beyond belief that our relationship is a sacrament. Here I am, getting all filled up over it, but that’s when I realized what we’ve got, when we were ass-deep in bedbugs, getting bitten every night, and literally going through hell. Nobody can convince me otherwise, either. (And the whole fairytale wedding BS pales in comparison to him cleaning under my desk, so I could’ve gone to Mass.) Bah, I’m all verklempt now.

2.) If you call yourself pro-life and think the death penalty is a good idea and think torture is ever acceptable, just go pound sand.

3.) In the same manner, if you protest or pray at abortion clinics and ignore people begging for spare change nearby, there’s a big pile of sand for you to go pound, too. The 40 Days for Life people are active at praying at a local Planned Parenthood, but Nickelsville is a matter of blocks away from them. If they really thought all life was sacred, they’d be pissed as hell that people have to live in tents in the middle of our city. Not to mention that the same group of people has been harassed, intimidated, and threatened.

4.) I think ordaining women in the RCC right now would be a spectacularly bad idea. We need to get everyone on board with the idea that women can contribute to the Church, and all women need to be on the same parity. What do you think would happen to a woman in an area of the world that routinely kills women for “honor” would do, if she proclaimed the Gospel? In the wake of Theology of the Body, I don’t see women being ordained in my lifetime.

5.) Along with that, I think that people putting women in their special place of motherhood is ghettoizing them. Yes, I think some are called to be mothers, but some aren’t. (Although truth be told, this is something you find in mainstream society, as well.)

6.) Every time I hear the term “culture war,” I want to be sick. Look, Albigensianism went out of fashion in the 13th century. Yeah, there’s a lot of ugly stuff out there, but people are so obsessed with it, they’re missing the beautiful things, as well.

I’m Jen, and I approve this message.

~ by Jen on October 27, 2008.

 
