Facebook

PSA time. For those of you using IE, consider using Safari (available for windows) or Firefox. 25% of you are still using IE6. Please upgrade, if you have to use IE. I’d heartily recommend Firefox with NoScript, a plugin that blocks javascript. Considering some of the really nasty security breaches with Safari, I’d consider using Firefox on OS X, as well.

Here’s another PSA that follows up on my main post. If you don’t know about Facebook’s beacon, you might want to read up on it and opt out, if you care about privacy. Also consider downloading the add-on BlockSite and putting this entry in your blocked sites: http://*facebook.com/beacon/ Of course, this works, if you’re using Firefox. Now back to your regularly scheduled blog posting.

I’m feeling caught between worlds again.

As a lot of my “regulars” know, I’m on Facebook. On the one hand, it’s a nice portal to the outside world. I can fire off something quick there that I can’t really do here. It’s also a good way to keep in touch with some people. Since I switched to my real name, a lot of people from elementary through high school have found me. Some of them I don’t particularly mind, and it’s been good to catch up. Others? I have to wonder if they really think I’m going to friend them back, after they were awful to me.

That, aside, I’m not in the same place as I was back then. Jokingly, I’ve started a FAQ. But there’s something deeper about it all. I feel as if I’m forced back into the place I was back then, and it’s not a comfortable place to be. I’ve moved on. Maybe the facebook people have moved on, as well.

~ by Jen on February 4, 2009.

 
