Some New Ground Rules

Still here. Busy. Not really feeling like blogging much.

Along with that, I guess I’m burnt on polarization, and I don’t see it getting much better. I’m tired that one side thinks I’m suspect because I don’t express the appropriate amount of self-loathing, and that the other side thinks I’m not Catholic enough. I’m tired of people bringing their issues, pinning them on me, and demanding I do something about it. If you’re angry that your parents dragged you to Mass all those years ago, I’m not your damn therapist. If you can’t understand that the Catholic Church is a diverse place full of different viewpoints, then this blog isn’t for you.

I guess I’m tired when people find that I’m not one of “those” Catholics, and proceed to bash the Church in front of me. When I call them on it, they’re all bent out of shape, insisting that I should agree with them. Look, if I didn’t love the RCC, would I really put up with all the bullshit of the past eight years? If I didn’t believe the dogmas (look them up, there aren’t many) and the Nicene Creed, would I really stick around?

On the liturgy: What we bring to it should be the best. Can you really point to most of the music written in the past 50 years and say it’s the best we can do? There was a history of the Church sponsoring the arts to add beauty to the liturgy. Now? When’s the last time your parish had a Mass composed? Does this mean going back to an earlier form? I don’t know. It can’t hurt to be inspired by it.

On politics: Does my faith influence my voting? You bet it does. Did I vote the way I did because of my faith? Certainly. Does it mean anything other than that? Nope. Is it anyone else’s business? We have a secret ballot in this country for a reason.

There are certain topics I’m not going to discuss. It’s not that I don’t have opinions on them, but it’s that discussions of those topics rarely lead anywhere good. Nor do they really help people. We all know what these topics are. If you bring them up and they aren’t relevant, or bring them up to start a fight, I’m going to block you from commenting. Don’t like it? Get your own blog.

~ by Jen on April 29, 2009.

 
